Minister Muloni Loses Bulambuli Seat

3204 Views Bulambuli, Eastern Region, Uganda

In short
Energy minister Irene Muloni has joined a growing list of ministers who have lost their parliamentary seats in the just concluded elections.

Energy minister Irene Muloni has joined a growing list of ministers who have lost their parliamentary seats in the just concluded elections.
Sarah Nambozo Wekomba, an Independent candidate needed just over 600 votes to defeat the minister in a tight race to represent Bulambuli district in the 10th parliament. Wekomba polled 20,808 against 20,240 votes for minister Muloni.
Results from six polling stations have been nullified after declaration forms from those stations went missing hours after voting. Mwavu Moshe Mushebe, the Bulambuli District returning officer, however said the missing results would not significantly influence the final outcome of the exercise.
Mushebe said results from six polling stations from Sisiyi Sub County did not the tallying centre. There was tension among voters earlier in the day after the missing forms caused delays in announcing the final results.
Mushebe explained that the results from these polling stations went missing after a group of unknown people waylaid the polling officials who were transporting them to the polling centre last evening and took away the declaration forms.
He said they realised that the results were missing this morning when they wanted to compute them.
Earlier in the day, Minister Muloni stormed the tallying centre demanding that the final results should not be announced without results from these six polling stations. The affected polling stations include Bundikibolo, Suni,  Luzzi primary school, Wandabiriri primary school, Sisiyi and Tunyi health centre III.
The Minister exchanged bitterly with the agents of Sarah Nambozo Wekomba whom she accused of being behind the missing results.
Other candidates in the race include Annet Nandudu, an Independent candidate who polled 1,187 votes, FDC's Enid Nabukhwasi with 1,961 votes and Esri Nambozo who garnered only 181 votes.
The list of ministers who have appear set to lose their seats include Sarah Kataike Ndoboli, state minister for Luweero Triangle, Information and National Guidance minister Major-General Jim Muhwezi, and Justice minister Kahinda Otafiire. Others are Justice Minister Henry Muganwa Kajura and Education minister Jessica Alupo.


About the author

Denis Olaka
Denis Olaka is the URN bureau chief for Lira, in northern Uganda. Apac and Otuke fall under his docket. Olaka has been a URN staff member since 2011.

Olaka started his journalism career in 2000 as a news reporter, anchor, and then editor for Radio Lira in Lira district. He was subsequently an editor with Lira's Radio Wa in 2004 and Gulu district's Mega FM.

He was also a freelance writer for the Daily Monitor and Red Pepper newspapers.

Olaka's journalism focuses on politics, health, agriculture and education. He does a lot of crime reporting too.