NRM Losers In Kayunga Pick Nomination Forms

2785 Views Kayunga, Uganda

In short
Pressure is mounting in Kayunga, after nomination some NRM losers and others pick nomination forms for MP positions.

Disgruntled Kayunga district NRM primary losers have picked nomination forms to stand as independent candidates in the 2016 general elections.

They accuse the NRM district registrar, Dr. Fred Watuwa of mismanaging the NRM primary election results by announcing the wrong candidates, yet the NRM electoral commission has not done enough to dispose off their petitions.

Dr. Fred Watuwa denies the allegations of mismanaging the election results in the NRM primaries and urges the NRM members to wait for their petitions to be handled. Tom Serwanga, who lost the Kayunga NRM LCV flag to Dr. Fazir Nsubuga Mayanja said because of the slow speed of handling the petition he will register as an independent candidate.

Dr. Sazir Nsubuga Mayanja, was declared winner in the elections with 14,394 votes, followed by Tom Sserwanga with 14,260, and the incumbent Eng. Stephen Dagada managed 7,927 votes.

Serwanga, accuses Fred Watuwa, of announcing his rival as winner in the primary election despite leading with more than 2000 votes. Sulaiman Madada, who is also the state minister for elderly and disability affairs lost to former Buganda Kingdom state minister for co-operatives, George Nsamba Kumama, in Bbaale County, Kayunga district in the NRM primaries.

Kumama, who had previously lost thrice to Madada, garnered 10,999 votes beating Madada with 4,125 votes. Other candidates in the race were James Makumbi, who got 2,780 votes and Henry Ssaabaganzi polled 1,157 votes.
James Makumbi, and Sulaiman Madada, the two runner ups are coming back as independents.

In Ntenjeru North Constituency, Immaculate Namata, who lost to the incumbent MP Amos Lugoloobi, has also picked nomination forms, while in Ntenjeru South Constituency, Fred Baseke who got 6700 votes losing to Patrick Nsanja with 6,908 votes, is also bouncing back as an independent candidate.

Juliet Nalunga, went through unopposed, after state minister for Lands Idah Nantaba pulled out of the NRM party primaries for personal reasons.
Other local government NRM primary losers who await the NRM leadership decision on their petitions are Shaban Magomo, the Nazigo Sub-county chairperson, Abdul Kawulukusi councilor Kangulumira Sub-county, Fred Mpanga chairman Bbaale Sub-County, Esperito Tudde - Kayonza Sub-county, Florence Nanunge for Busaana Sub-county and Lugard Salabwa - Kayunga Sub-county.