Kaizer Chiefs Defender Bukenya Invited For Togo Tie

702 Views Kampala, Uganda

In short
Uganda Cranes tactician Milutin Micho Sredojevic has finally invited South African based defender Ivan Bukenya ahead of the teams 2018 World Cup qualifier against Togo.

Uganda Cranes tactician Milutin ‘Micho' Sredojevic has finally invited South African based defender Ivan Bukenya ahead of the team's 2018 World Cup qualifier against Togo.

Bukenya who won the South African Premier League title with Kaizer Chiefs last season and has been a regular for the team this season is among the squad players announced this morning.
Striker Hamis Kizza who is in good form since joining SC Simba of Tanzania together with the Vietnam based duo of Geoffrey ‘Baba' Kizito and Moses Oloya have also been recalled to the team.

The Cranes will face Togo on November 12th in Lome before the return leg on November 15th at the Mandela National Stadium, Namboole. The winner over two legs will qualify to enter the group stage of the qualifiers.

The FA President Moses Magogo also promised that each of the players will pocket UGX7.2 million (US$2,000) if they defeat Togo. Last year the Cranes lost to Emmanuel Adebayor's Togo by the same 1-0 score in Kampala and Lome in the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier.

President Yoweri Museveni will charter a plane to fly the team and some fans to Lome and return in time for the return leg after 79 hours.

Other teams from the Council for East and Central African Football (Cecafa) region besides Uganda who will battle in the 2018 World Cup qualifiers include Tanzania who face Algeria, Kenya take on Cape Verde Islands, while Libya battle Rwanda. Burundi will also take on DR Congo, Sudan face Zambia and Ethiopia host Congo Brazzaville.
Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango, Robert Odonkara, Salim Jamal, James Alitho
Defenders: Isaac Isinde, Murushid Jjuko, Joseph Ochaya, Shafiq Bakaki, Isaac Muleme, Ivan Bukenya, Godfrey Walusimbi, Dennis Okot, Dennis Iguma
Midfielders: Khalid Aucho, Keziron Kizito, Tony Mawejje, William Kizito Luwagga, Farouk Miya, Muzamil Mutyaba, Keziron Kizito, Ivan Ntege, Moses Oloya, Geoffrey Kizito
Strikers: Geoffrey Massa, Brian Umony, Hamis Kizza, Ceaser Okhuti