Incumbents Retain Seats in PWDs Parliamentary Elections

3426 Views Mukono, Uganda

In short
Persons with Disabilities have finally elected their five representatives to the Tenth Parliament.The election that took place at Colline Hotel saw all the incumbents retained their seats.

All five incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) representing the Persons with Disabilities (PWDs) have retained their seats.

The election saw Alex Ndeezi, one of the longest serving Members of Parliament returned to the House as the Central region representative for Persons with Disabilities.

Ndeezi, a member of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) has been in Parliament since 1996. He secured a 97percent victory with 527 votes cast in his favor. His challenger Abu-Bakar Kasule Senfuka secured 14 votes while Lukwago John Bosco got one vote.

 Hood Katuramu Karibedda, an independent member of parliament fought off stiff competition from Bernard Mayanja, Abel Bakunda Mwesigye, Edgar Bwire and Geoffrey Kabateraine, to retain his western region seat which he has also occupied right from the sixth Parliament.

The race for the female representative saw Safia Nalule retain the seat she has occupied since the 8th Parliament with 280 votes. She defeated former minister Florence Naiga Ssekabira, who also held the same post during the 7th Parliament. Sekabira polled 146 votes, while Human Rights advocate Laura Kanushu Opori secured 115 votes.

Wilson Nokrach remains the Northern Uganda regional representative after securing 281 votes against his competitor Joyce Acan Ondoga's 255 votes.

Helen Grace Asamo flag bearer of the NRM party had sailed through unopposed to represent the eastern region.

There were a total of 544 delegates who turned out to vote out of the total number 560 delegates expected to constitute the Electoral College.
//Cue in: ‘If it weren't …
Cue out: …disqualify any.'//
John Bosco Lukwago one of the candidates attributed his loss to the alleged conspiracy between the ruling NRM party and the Electoral Commission. He says he was denied access to the voter's register.
//Cue in: ‘After our nominations…
Cue out: …before for free.'//
Electoral Commission Vice Chairperson, urged the loser to be calm saying there was still life after the end of the polls.
He blames Lukwago for not making an effort to reach the districts to access the voters' register.
//Cue in: ‘It was transparent…
Cue out: …that blame go?'//
Jubilant supporters of the elected candidates could not hide their joy as they wildly celebrated despite their disabilities.
The new members of parliament will join other special interest group members like the youth, workers and the UPDF whose elections are yet to be conducted and election dates set by the EC.